Calendrier

Déc
3
ven
2021
Miriam McCormick (University of Richmond) @ Salle C-1017-02, Carrefour des Arts et Sciences
Déc 3 @ 10:00 – 12:00
Miriam McCormick (University of Richmond) @ Salle C-1017-02, Carrefour des Arts et Sciences

Présentation intitulée « Engaging with Fringe Beliefs: Why, When, and How ».

Résumé/Abstract:

In this talk, I argue that in many cases, there are good reasons to engage with people who hold fringe beliefs such as debunked conspiracy theories. I (1) discuss reasons for engaging with fringe beliefs; (2) discuss the conditions that need to be met for engagement to be worthwhile; (3) consider the question of how to engage with such beliefs, and defend what Jeremy Fantl has called “closed-minded engagement “and (4) address worries that such closed-minded engagement involves problematic deception or manipulation. Thinking about how we engage with irrational emotions offers a way of responding to these concerns.

Reflection on engagement with fringe beliefs has wider implications for two distinct philosophical discussions. First, it can help illuminate the nature of beliefs, lending support to the view that not all states which are deeply resistant to evidence thereby fail to be beliefs. Second, an implication of the view I put forth is that it need not constitute a lack of respect to adopt what Peter Strawson called “the objective stance” in relationships.

« Complicity: A Non-Psychologistic Account » @ Zoom.
Déc 3 @ 14:00 – 15:00
"Complicity: A Non-Psychologistic Account" @ Zoom.

Jules Salomone-Sehr offrira une présentation intitulée « Complicity: a non-psychologistic account », dans le cadre des ateliers du GRIPP. Il s’agit d’un atelier pre-read. Pour obtenir le lien zoom ainsi que l’article à lire à l’avance, il faut écrire à Jules à l’adresse jules.salomone@mcgill.ca.

Une autre présentation suivra, celle-là donnée par Xavier Boileau et intitulée « Quelles limites pour l’autodétermination interne en contexte fédéral? », de 15h à 16h.

Déc
7
mar
2021
Ethics of Change International Student Conference @ Zoom.
Déc 7 – Déc 8 Jour entier
Ethics of Change International Student Conference @ Zoom.

The way we live, and the norms, beliefs, and attitudes that shape our behavior are constantly changing. Much of that change is driven by people who refuse to accept the status quo and rise to ask critical questions about what is right and wrong in how governments, communities, and individuals treat others, including members of sexual, racial, religious, and other minorities, dissidents, people with disabilities, women, children, nonhuman animals, and the natural environment.

The Centre de Recherche en Éthique (CRÉ) in Montréal, Canada, will unite students from across the globe to come together to explore the ethical considerations around social and political activism, and strategies to achieve local and global change. The conference aims to allow students to exchange ideas across borders and make sustainable connections with each other as well as with the CRÉ.

Any student, postdoc, or faculty member affiliated with any college or university anywhere in the world is welcome to attend. Please register at https://forms.gle/8duz7Xj7oomaU1Gb7 no later than Sunday, 5 December 2021.

Programme

Tuesday, 7 December 2021

7 AM (Houston)/8 AM (Montréal)/2 PM (Berlin)/3 PM (Cape Town, Tshwane, Makhanda, Lilongwe, Harare)/4 PM (Dar es Salaam)/6.30 PM (New Delhi)/7 PM (Dhaka): Welcoming remarks by the organizers & Ryoa Chung

8.30 AM (Montréal): Jackson Juma Coy (University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania): The Impact of Adaptive Preference on Tanzanian Women’s Emancipation

9.15 AM (Montréal): Md. Masud Rana (University of Barishal, Bangladesh): Rights vs. Morality: Bangladesh’s LGBTQ Community

10.00 AM-10.30 AM (Montréal): Break/socializing

10.30 AM (Montréal): Nanda Harish (Lady Shri Ram College for Women, University of Delhi, India): Questioning the Culture of Fat Phobia: A Commentary on the Systemic Marginalization of Plus-Sized People

11.15 AM (Montréal): Nkosikhona Baloyi (University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe): What Fuels Mental Health Stigma?

Day ends at 11.00 AM (Houston)/Noon (Montréal)/6.00 PM (Berlin)/7.00 PM (Cape Town, Tshwane, Makhanda, Lilongwe, Harare)/8.00 PM (Dar es Salaam)/10.30 PM (New Delhi)/11.00 PM (Dhaka)

Wednesday, 8 December 2021

7 AM (Houston)/8 AM (Montréal)/2 PM (Berlin)/3 PM (Cape Town, Tshwane, Makhanda, Lilongwe, Harare)/4 PM (Dar es Salaam)/6.30 PM (New Delhi)/7 PM (Dhaka): Katharina Braun (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany): Animal Rights Activism, Undercover Footage, and the Public Interest

8.45 AM (Montréal): Roberta Mbewe (University of Malawi, Malawi): Burden Sharing in the Context of Global Environmental Pollution

9.30 AM (Montréal): Dimpho Moletsane (Rhodes University, South Africa): From Apartheid State to Rainbow Nation: The Great South African Nation-building Project

10.15 AM-10.30 AM (Montréal): Break/socializing

10.30 AM (Montréal): Bianca van Zyl (University of Cape Town, South Africa): The Ambiguous Ethics of Looting

11.15 AM (Montréal): Garth Elzerman (University of South Africa, South Africa): Free Speech’s Value Amidst Intense Calls for Social Change

Noon (Montréal): Concluding remarks by the organizers & announcement of the winner of the prize for the best presentation

Day ends at 11.15 AM (Houston)/12.15 (Montréal)/6.15 PM (Berlin)/7.15 PM (Cape Town, Tshwane, Makhanda, Lilongwe, Harare)/8.15 PM (Dar es Salaam)/10.45 PM (New Delhi)/11.15 PM (Dhaka)

 

Déc
14
mar
2021
« Quelle valeur pour les arguments inspirés des neurosciences dans le débat sur le discours haineux ? » @ Salle C-1017-02 du Carrefour des arts et des sciences
Déc 14 @ 12:00 – 13:15
« Quelle valeur pour les arguments inspirés des neurosciences dans le débat sur le discours haineux ? » @ Salle C-1017-02 du Carrefour des arts et des sciences
Présentation d’Ugo Gilbert Tremblay, lors des midis de l’éthique du CRÉ, intitulée « Quelle valeur pour les arguments inspirés des neurosciences dans le débat sur le discours haineux ? ».
Jan
11
mar
2022
Mark Vellend (Université de Sherbrook) @ Informations à venir.
Jan 11 @ 14:00 – 16:00
Mark Vellend (Université de Sherbrook) @ Informations à venir.

Mark Vellend, Université de Sherbooke, « Do the values of biodiversity scientists bias biodiversity science? »

Abstract and practical information to come | Résumé et informations pratiques à venir

Jan
13
jeu
2022
« A Theory of Antinomianism » @ Salle C-1017-02 du Carrefour des arts et des sciences
Jan 13 @ 12:30 – 13:45
"A Theory of Antinomianism" @ Salle C-1017-02 du Carrefour des arts et des sciences

Présentation d’Åsbjørn Melkevik, intitulée « A Theory of Antinomianism » dans le cadre des midis de l’éthique du CRÉ.

Pour participer par Zoom, c’est ici.

Jan
19
mer
2022
« Un autre point de vue: le rôle de la fiction dans l’empathie envers d’autres groupes sociaux » @ Informations à venir.
Jan 19 @ 12:30 – 13:45
"Un autre point de vue: le rôle de la fiction dans l'empathie envers d’autres groupes sociaux" @ Informations à venir.

Fernanda Pérez Gay Juárez nous offrira une présentation intitulée « Un autre point de vue: le rôle de la fiction dans l’empathie envers d’autres groupes sociaux » dans le cadre des midis de l’éthique du CRÉ.

Fév
1
mar
2022
« Loyalty and Dissent » @ C-1017-02 Carrefour des arts et des sciences
Fév 1 @ 12:30 – 14:00
"Loyalty and Dissent" @ C-1017-02 Carrefour des arts et des sciences

Présentation d’Agnes Tam, à l’occasion des midis de l’éthique du CRÉ.

Pour y participer en ligne, via zoom, c’est ici.

Fév
16
mer
2022
Frauke Albersmeier (Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf) @ Zoom.
Fév 16 @ 12:00 – 14:00
Frauke Albersmeier (Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf) @ Zoom.

Le GRÉEA reçoit Frauke Albersmeier (Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf), pour une présentation intitulée « The ambivalence of speciesism ».

More information to come Plus d’informations à venir

Mar
15
mar
2022
Présentation de Yael Peled @ C-1017-02 Carrefour des arts et des sciences
Mar 15 @ 12:30 – 14:00
Présentation de Yael Peled @ C-1017-02 Carrefour des arts et des sciences

Présentation de Yael Peled à l’occasion des midis de l’éthique du CRÉ.

Pour y participer via zoom, c’est ici.