/home/lecreumo/public html/wp content/uploads/2018/04/political

Political Theory in / and / as Political Science

Quand :
10 mai 2018 – 13 mai 2018 Jour entier
Où :
Leacock 232, McGill University

Conférence co-présidée:

Jacob T. Levy (McGill), Josiah Ober (Stanford), Melissa Schwartzberg (NYU)

Voir www.mcgill.ca/rgcs/PTPS.


Thursday May 10

10:45-11 am

Opening remarks: Jacob T. Levy, McGill

11 am- 12:45 pm

Keith Banting and Will Kymlicka, Queen’s: Theories of Justice, the Strains of Commitment, and Realistic Utopias

Suzanne Dovi, Arizona: The Four Janus-Faces Of Misogyny: Or How To Measure Bad Behavior?

David Wiens, UCSD: Ideal Theories in Political Science: Lessons from Game Theory and Statistics

Chair/ discussant: Catherine Lu, McGill

2-3:45 pm

Jenna Bednar, Michigan: Federalism as a Mechanism of Collective Problem Solving

Michael Neblo, Ohio State: Building a Directly Representative Democracy

Jack Knight, Duke and Melissa Schwartzberg, NYU: The Moral Limits of Bargaining

Chair/ discussant: Rob Reich, Stanford

4:15-6 pm

Samuel Bagg, McGill: Democratic Theory As Political Action

Menaka Philips, Tulane, and Jennifer Forestal, Stockton: « Democracy Dies in Darkness »: Anonymity, Accountability, and Information as a Public Good

Andrew Sabl, Yale/Toronto: The Strange Career of Aggregative Democracy

Chair/ discussant: Rogers Smith, University of Pennsylvania

6-6:15 pm

Reflections: Rogers Smith, University of Pennsylvania, and President-Elect, American Political Science Association

6:15-7:15 pm

Reception in celebration of the awarding of the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science to Jane Mansbridge 

Sponsored by the Faculty of Arts and the Department of Political Science, McGill University


Friday May 11

9 am

Opening remarks: Jane Mansbridge, Harvard

9:15-11 am

Federica Carugati, Indiana: Tradeoffs of Inclusion: Development Before Liberalism

David Stasavage, NYU: Origins of Early Democracy

Josiah Ober, Stanford: Rationality and the origins of social cooperation in Greek thought

Chair/ discussant: Christa Scholtz, McGill

11:15 am – 1 pm: Graduate student panel

Aberdeen Berry, McGill: Arendtian Judgment and Pluralism

Alec Crisman, McGill: Instrumentalism and the Space of Non-Democracy

Vertika: Seeking Agency in the Interstices of Power

Chair/ discussant: Jane Mansbridge, Harvard

2:30-4:15 pm

William Roberts, McGill: Ideologies of domination and democratic theory

Deva Woodly, New School: From Idea To Ideology

Laurel Weldon, Purdue: Active Solidarity: Strategies For Transnational Political Cooperation In Contexts Of Difference, Domination And Distrust

Chair/ discussant: Kelly Gordon, McGill

4:15-4:30 pm

Reflections: Melissa Schwartzberg, NYU


Saturday May 12

9-11 am

Sean Ingham, UCSD: Rule by Multiple Majorities: A New Theory of Popular Control

Mariah Zeisberg, Michigan: A New Political Jurisprudence

Daniel Weinstock, McGill: The Political Theory of Really Existing Democracies: The Case of Electoral Reform

Barry Weingast, Stanford: Should Majoritarians Embrace Countermajoritarian Constitutional Provisions?

Chair/ discussant: Victor Muñiz-Fraticelli, McGill

11:15 am – 1 pm

Kevin Elliott, Columbia: The Uses and Abuses of Public Opinion in Political Theory

Alison McQueen, Lisa Blaydes and Justin Grimmer, Stanford: Mirrors for Princes and Sultans

Arash Abizadeh, McGill: Representation, Bicameralism, and Sortition

Chair/ discussant: Edana Beauvais, McGill

1-1:15 pm

Closing remarks: Josiah Ober, Stanford

Conference co-chairs: Jacob T. Levy (McGill), Josiah Ober (Stanford), Melissa Schwartzberg (NYU)

A conference of the Research Group on Constitutional Studies, a unit of the Yan P. Lin Centre for the Study of Freedom and Global Orders in the Ancient and Modern Worlds at McGill University, and the Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Philosophie Politique.

This conference is made possible by grants from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the John Templeton Foundation.

With additional support from the McGill Department of Political Science, the Centre de Recherche en Éthique, and the Research Group on Global Justice of the Lin Centre.

To register, please e-mail rgcs.mcgill@gmail.com with your name and institutional affiliation.